Book of the Covenant

Not One Jot or Tittle (PDF)
Book-of-the-Covenant-Slides (PDF)
Book-of-the-Covenant-Slides-#2 (PDF)
Covenant Vs Law (PDF)
Book-of-the-Covenant-Details (PDF)

“Be diligent to present yourself approved to God, a worker who does not need to be ashamed, rightly dividing the word of truth.” II Timothy 2:15

The Bibles we study today all have Torah divided into 5 Books; however the first four Books are all connected with the word “and”.  This suggests that from God’s perspective they are all one Book with one overall theme.  A careful reading of Exodus 19 reveals the use of the term “Book of the Covenant”; a similarly careful reading of Deuteronomy 31 reveals the term “Book of the Law”.  This study is about “rightly dividing” the Word of God contained in Torah. At Mt Sinai, in Exodus 19, God proposed marriage to Israel.  The two parties entered into an agreement (a ketubah) which is identified in Exodus 24 as the Book of the Covenant.  It is a conditional covenant; Israel’s status as a “peculiar treasure”, a “kingdom of Priests” and a “holy nation” is dependent upon her obedience to the covenant. Moses had not even returned from the top of the mountain with the signed copies of the Covenant before Israel was worshipping the image of the Golden Calf.  The Covenant was broken; God wanted to kill the entire Nation and start over again with Moses.  But Moses interceded; God imposed (there was no two-party agreement) the Book of the Law upon Israel as a way to “postpone” her death penalty resulting from the broken Covenant.  Only a blood sacrifice could satisfy that penalty.  The Levitical sacrifices that Israel offered year-by-year (under the Book of the Law) served that purpose.  Only Yeshua’s shed blood could permanently erase that blood penalty!  On the eve of His sacrifice, He offered “the Cup of the New Covenant in His Blood” to His Disciples.  The Book of the Law came to an end on that Tree of Sacrifice; as Believers, we are now partakers of the New Covenant with Messiah! So… Torah can be rightly divided into two Books: the Book of the Covenant (from Genesis to Exodus 24:11); and the Book of the Law (from Exodus 24:12 to the end of Deuteronomy).

Leave a Reply